My internship experience with the International Republican Institute (IRI)

On the campaign trail during campaigns in 2011 Kaviri center holding an NTV Microphone as presidential aspirant Mr. Bidandi Ssali spoke to the electorates.

The internship placement by the International Republican Institute (IRI) was  indeed a blessing that has provided me with rich material and saw me acquire new skills, networks, exposed to diverse issues particularly governance, democracy, political leadership and increased engagement in the democratic and developmental processes but most importantly putting alternative and transformative leadership skills to proper use. This experience has presented me with a golden opportunity to bond, share experiences and freely engage myself in learning and debate issues of National concern and as well increase my activism in promoting gender equality, social justice and social transformation. Its my pleasure to present to you this self evaluation report which also highlights some of the many activities that I have been involved in as an intern and as well extend my sincere gratitude to IRI for offering me this once in a life opportunity to explore politics.

There are a number of organizations and individuals that need special mention for their critical support toward my performance at my work place and in coordination of activities:-

1)      Firstly, I am so grateful to international republican institute for the support given to me that has enabled me to register remarkable progress in as far as my political journey is concerned. This opportunity has greatly contributed to deepening democracy into me as an individual, engaged in governance and development processes as well as increased awareness of women’s participation in the democratic processes. I wish thank the staff of IRI particularly Mr. Alfred Rutaasya, Dora Namuyomba, Joseph and Most importantly to mention, Mr. Jeremy Liebwoitz PHD the country director IRI for the support extended to me entirely throughout this internship under the strengthening multi- party democracy project, without you, this would not have been possible.

2)      People’s progressive party (PPP) for their physical and material support as well as provision of an office space for me. I wish to acknowledge the president of PPP Mr. Jaberi Bidandi Ssali for allowing me travel with him during his campaign visits that did not only inspired me but also gave me an insight into leadership and governance challenges and lessons in this country. The Secretary General of the party Mr. David Oriila Opii and Mr. Robert Mugabe my supervisor deserves an applause for nurturing and mentoring as well as guiding me on what was expected of me and in addition, I wish to thank the secretariat staff because without their support, it would have been very much difficult for me to do and achieve what I have in this period of time.

3)      I wish also to recognize Forum For Women In Democracy [FOWODE] for allowing me use their internet Café to further my research, inviting me to participate in radio and TV talk shows organized by FOWODE and keeping me informed with relevant information as well as immensely contributing financially most especially where I was facilitated with a banner and nomination fees during campaigns as a Guild representative counselor for the faculty of special needs and rehabilitation at kyambogo and for having recommended me to IRI for the internship placement. The Executive Director of FOWODE Ms Patricia Munabi Babiiha deserves a special word of thanks for her endless support towards me.

4)      Finally Uganda youth Network [UYONET], for the choosing me to be part of their activities especially as their external coordinator at Kyambogo university especially on the campaigns on promotion of peaceful and non violent youth participation in governance and other developmental processes. Details about the report HEREIRI REPORT FOR ALI

